top of page

The Gold 45 Prototype 

7" flexidisc book, playable at 33 1/3 RPM

Edition of 100


The Gold 45 Prototype is a proposed sequel to NASA's 1977 Voyager Golden Record, updating the extraterrestrials on what we've been doing down here on Earth for the past 40 years.  Made in collaboration with 500+ Cambridge residents during a year long project, the prototype features greetings, sounds, music and artwork responding to a democratically selected list of the most significant developments to life on Earth since 1978.

Images within the flexidisc book include a set of six paper collages, The Prototype Shortlist.

Supported by Arts Council England


The video features a segment from Sounds of Earth 2.0, a composition of 'the 15 most significant sounds of human life since 1978' as selected by Year 5 students at St. Matthew's Primary School, Cambridge.

bottom of page